I have to water this thing?

Over Thanksgiving weekend I went with Chris and my mother-in-law to tag a tree. I grew up in a house of artificial trees. At one point we had a rotating one that was pre-lit with colored lights. Classy. Needless to say, I was excited for this new adventure of finding and claiming our tree, followed by cutting it down and taking it home. This all seemed quite entertaining, so I happily agreed to get a real tree for our house.

Here are a few pictures of this fun-filled adventure. Next year, I think we’ll tag a tree before Thanksgiving, and pick it up shortly after. Nearly every tree I offered my heart to already belonged to some other family. It was heart-wrenching. I do want to say, however, we got the best one. It’s perfect and symmetrical and so full and beautiful. I’m really enjoying it so far. Unfortunately, I’m going to have to cover the thing in awful colored little lights soon. Terrible, I know. I’ve been putting off decorating it knowing how cruel it is of me. Colored lights just aren’t me….colored lights are for families with kids old enough to ask for colored lights.. However, in great attempt to compromise in this marriage, I got to pick the outside lights and Chris got to pick the inside ones. Hmph.


This is not our tree, but it was a decent one. Picture-worthy.











And, with my first tree, I’m learning new things. Like-that you have to water it 1-2 times PER DAY. No one told me I signed up for THAT, and it will definitely die if I’m not the one to water it. Reluctantly, I’m doing a fabulous mediocre job keeping it alive, but it taints my previous excitement for a real tree. A one-up for artificials is that they are self-sufficient. I don’t like day-to-day obligations, I’m just not that good at them. I’ll keep you updated on if it stays alive until Christmas, and I may post a picture of it decorated….though I probably won’t be able to bring myself to.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “I have to water this thing?

  1. tamra

    can’t wait to see those colored lights 😉

Leave a Reply

