Thrifty Thrifting

I’ve had an eye out for a nightstand for our guest room for a while, but everything I was finding in my price range was veneered and kind of cheap.  Soooo…a few nights ago I stopped off at a local Goodwill and found a nightstand that I saw a lot of potential in.  I liked the hardware, I liked the detail on the legs, and it was solid wood, so I knew I could paint it easily.  The price tag was a mere $12.99….great deal, right?  Then I got to the register….and it rang up for $6.50.  That’s right, I got a nightstand for $6.50.  Who knew thrift shops have sales?  This was my first, and definitely not my last Goodwill purchase.

Here’s the before:

A beat up, well-loved nightstand complete with the lingering scent of Grandpa’s mothballs and two hot-pink jellybeans.

First I gave it a quick sand just to give the primer something to stick to.  Since I was painting and not staining it I didn’t get crazy with the sanding.

Then I gave it two coats of Kilz primer:

Then I gave it two coats of Benjamin Moore Manchester Tan paint I had left over in an eggshell finish:

Then I gave it two coats of this:

And then put it all back together and drooled a little over how nice the contrast was between the hardware and the paint color.

And for $6.50, I had a nightstand go from this:

To this:


I think I got a little too excited over this project, because next up I’m going to experiment with a DIY project WAY over my head and try to reupholster a pair of these:

that I got off of Craigslist.  Stay tuned for the potential train wreck.

1 Comment

Filed under Home

One response to “Thrifty Thrifting

  1. Gretchen

    So jello. What an awesome find!! Love those side tables. Love the wingback chairs too, but good luck with a reupholster. You are one ambitious woman! Can’t wait to see the results!

Leave a Reply

