A surprise, a shower, and some sun.

I’m sure it’s no coincidence that of the numerous states my board certification is good in, California is not one of them.  A mid-January trip to 80 degree weather is not only a twist of the arm, but of the legs, back, and toes.

This past weekend I had a mini-reunion with some of my college friends in California.  We flew out to surprise Alicia with the miniest of showers to give her some much needed social interaction after 10ish weeks of bed rest.  Her husband arranged for us to stay in a beautiful Villa by Laguna Beach, and the combination of girl time and pristine weather conditions made for a short but extraordinary weekend.

I worked until 9PM Thursday, which, due to a impending snowstorm and Chris’s bout with bronchitis and sinusitis, was followed by a car ride to Providence, a train ride to Boston, and an unexpected sleepover at a friend’s apartment.  I think my flight might have been the only one to make it out of Boston Friday morning, but I somehow made it to Cali.

We picked up lunch with Tom, Alicia’s husband, then surprised her at her apartment.  Though the receiving end isn’t always my favorite, I adore giving surprises.  It was just perfect.  She had no idea we were coming, and she was elated that we were there.

I was reunited with my long-lost friend Daisy upon entry into the apartment:

I knew braless Alicia wasn’t expecting any visitors because she was….braless.  I’m attributing our haggard eyes and pale skin to the early flights, but at 34 weeks pregnant Alicia still managed to radiate amongst the rest of us.

An overly-prepared Em packed not only her clothes and toiletries, but her cookbook and spices.  An accidentally emptied jar of sea salt and near bout with the fire alarm later, we prepared our favorite college dish—meat pie.  Don’t knock it until you try it.

And the miniest of showers:

To little Brooklynn’s benefit, Tom is fashionable and motivated to shop while Leesh is on bed rest.  He did a phenomenal job in providing numerous options for Brooklynn to don on her way home from the hospital.

And because I used California as my canvas for continuing to learn how to use my new camera I know we can all use a little motivation to shovel through the rest of this snow-laden winter, here’s what Californians have to enjoy year-round.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “A surprise, a shower, and some sun.

  1. Alicia Oldham

    Thank you for such an amazing weekend! I miss you guys already! -Alicia

    p.s. this is my first of many messages if necessary to stalk you about sending me lots and lots of pics! :o)

  2. Court the pictures look great! next time we see each other, you’ll have to teach ME how to be a photographer 🙂

Leave a Reply

