Everything’s Bigger in Texas

I’ll first apologize for the scarcity of posts as of late.  Chris and I have been on the road every second we aren’t working in the past month…or so it seems.

Two weeks ago Chris and I miraculously fit all of our clothes and necessities for a four day trip to Texas into one little carry on.  Most of you are well aware that I’d rather be stranded on a chairlift in the peak of winter than isolated on a beach in the summer heat, so it should be no surprise that Dallas in the middle of July wasn’t a vacation destination.  However, six of us from Rhody took a flight to DFW to celebrate the nuptials of one of our best friends from high school.  I learned several things from my short stay, namely:

1) Six people in one hotel room tests my one’s patience.

2) Texas is not for me.  The temperature never dropped below 100, houses larger than some college dormitories sat on lots smaller than my left big toe, and the only form of entertainment we stumbled upon was strip mall shopping.  If you’re into that sort of thing, you’re in luck, because there’s a strip mall on every street corner.

3) I’m happy to have checked another state off of the big 50 list, and I won’t shed a tear if that’s the last check mark that state sees….though I do hear Austin might be worth a look.

Despite this being a less-than-ideal form of a summer vacation, it was fun to spend time with friends and Chris and I were happy to share in Nick and Courtney’s wedding festivities.  Without further ado, here’s a recap of the event:

The trip started off with a bang as Pauly Shore staked out Billy’s location in more than one airport:

I was happy to return to one of these fine establishments:There were cute dogs.  A plethora of cute dogs.I learned about this southern homecoming tradition:

And had some mouthwatering Mexican food:The wedding had a true pageant-esque feel to it, and it was fun to see how a wedding half way across the country does it up—with lots of color!

4 Comments

Filed under Friends, Travel

4 responses to “Everything’s Bigger in Texas

  1. Gretchen

    1. The last picture kills me. You need to frame that one.
    2. Are you (or Billy) seriously friends with Pauly Shore!!!?? I was slightly star-struck.

  2. Steve

    Just when I think Chris couldn’t look any better… he throws on a tux. Boy oh boy are you a lucky girl Courtney

Leave a Reply

